Coconut Banana Muffins

I guess you could say I have gotten sucked into the juice and smoothie craze, there seem to be so many pins and talk about it lately and they really can be so good for you (they also can be pretty bad). I originally tried a juice/smoothie fast just to kinda reboot my system, but they are just good and with a little prep they are super easy and quick.

I try to do as much as I can ahead of time for really every thing I make, smoothies are no exception. I know making it fresh is the best way to go. I usually combine juicing with my smoothies, I will juice my greens and carrots first. Yes, you can, and a lot if people do, just throw your greens right in your blender, however I like to remove some of the fiber because it doesn’t always agree with me. So where I going with this? To save on time in the morning, I juice ahead of time and freeze the green and carrot juice. Like I said, fresh is best but if you can’t always do fresh, freezing is the next best. And of course I will also freeze my fruits (especially this time of year since fresh fruit kinda sucks).

Here’s an example of a morning smoothie, it will vary day-to-day. Bananas, berries, chia seeds, greens, coconut water, lemon. I will also just use banana, peanut butter and coconut milk or water a lot. I don’t ever use any dairy, not even yogurt but I know a lot of people who will use Greek yogurt in smoothies. If I want a creamy smoothie I will just add more bananas.

It’s a really pretty blend isn’t it, ha! But don’t be fooled it was yummy.

My biggest problem with smoothies are, I still need more. I still want something doughy, something I can bite into. I just can’t seem to break that craving. So, instead of fighting it…I embrace it! Always having bananas in my freezer, because for some reason we can never finish them without them getting too ripe for our tastes, I decided on a banana muffin.

Coconut Banana Muffins via MintGrapefruit {Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Egg-free, Sugar-free}

Coconut Banana Muffins

gluten-free, dairy-free, sugar-free, egg-free, soy-free

2 tbsp flax meal
1 cup coconut milk (or any non-dairy milk)
1 1/4 cup gluten-free flour blend
3/4 cup coconut flour
1 tsp xanthan gum (omit if your blend already includes it)
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground nutmeg
1/4 cup coconut oil
1 tsp vanilla
3-4 ripe bananas, mashed
1 cup carob or chocolate chips (optional)
1/2 cup chopped pecans or other nuts (optional)
1/2 cup shredded coconut (optional)

In a large mixing bowl, combine milk and flax, set aside. In a different bowl, combine the flours, gum,baking soda and spices.

Mix the oil, banana and vanilla into the milk mixture. Mix until combined. Slowly add in the dry ingredients, try not to over mix. The batter will be thick.

Fold in the nuts, chocolate and coconut. Spoon into greased (or lined) muffin tins.

Bake for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.

(I know the pictures aren’t the best…but they are really tasty and filling!)

Leave a Reply

