{Vegan} Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili

I have been thinking so much of creating little pieces of art that I haven’t really made any time for cooking, shame on me, but this weekend I decided to get creative in the kitchen with my son!

As you may know, I have been creating an art journal and trying to write, paint, draw, whatever, in it everyday. I have been pretty good, I try posting them on Instagram (#hoysartjournal) but I haven’t posted all of them. This has taken up most of my free time, and trust me, I’m NOT complaining about that. I miss creating and by creating this journal I have been forcing myself to get into a routine again. Get emotions on paper. Plus, it’s been a great bonding with my son, who has started his own art journal.

But since starting this project, I haven’t done anything new in the kitchen, no experimenting, nothing. Oh! I did make a gluten free chocolate cake (from a box) with a cherry cream topping for Valentines day, and a Curried Sweet Potato Salad for a super food event (that I missed), so okay I have made a couple things. Either way, I decided this weekend we were going to make something fun! Or at least I hope.

First thing. I’ve been craving chili for awhile, since I’m the only one who eats it I don’t make it very often. I finally decided to make a pot of it, go figure it’s the warmest weekend it’s been in a while. Chili is one of those dishes where you can get creative with the ingredients and toppings. This one is vegan but the toppings I used are not, you can easily substitute the toppings for your taste. Feel free to add beef or chicken, even more veggies or different grains and beans.

Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili via MintGrapefruit.com

Vegan Quinoa and Sweet Potato Chili

1/2 red onion, chopped
2 peppers (I used red and yellow), chopped
1/2-1 jalapeño, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 15oz can white beans
1 oz can kidney beans
1 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 oz can diced tomatoes
1 medium sweet potato, diced
1/2 an apple, peeled and diced
1 cup uncooked quinoa
2 cups water
1/2 cup chili powder
2 tbsp cumin powder
1 tbsp cayenne pepper
Salt to taste
Optional toppings: sour cream, cheese, jalapeños, corn chips

In a large pot, sauté the onions in about a tablespoon of olive oil until soft, add peppers and garlic.

Reduce to medium heat and add tomatoes, sweet potato, apples and spices. Let simmer.

Chili may seem thick at this point. Add the uncooked quinoa and water. Let simmer until the quinoa is fully cooked. Add more water if it still seems too thick. *I used both black and regular quinoa, the black takes a little longer than regular but has a nuttier taste.

Serve with the toppings of your choice or over corn chips, a potato or any other way you enjoy your chili!

20140222-203244.jpg

Quinoa & Sweet Potato Chili topped with corn chips, sour cream and cheese

Keep an eye out for: Lemon Tarts and Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

