Soup, Sandwiches & Good Times

My original goal this year was to post at a minimum once a week, well as you can tell I was good for the first couple then…skip a couple more and here we are. Blogging isn’t easy when you try balancing it with working full-time, having a family and a volunteer job. In a perfect world, I really would treat blogging as a second job, dedicate at a minimum two hours a day to focus on my posts, recipes, outlines, etc. but that just doesn’t happen. Life just gets in the way. I am sure it would be different if I was making a profit but for right now, that isn’t the case. {Maybe someday…I’ll be able to quit my job and just volunteer and blog…maybe…in a dream} Blogging isn’t really easy, it’s time-consuming. (Just ask my husband.)

So, I do the majority of the writing, cooking, photo taking, etc. on the weekends. I will try to write at least two but in reality I will usually only finish one (maybe). Many times I don’t publish as soon as I finish, I wait and publish during the week. I try to keep a consistent spacing between posts, you can tell how well that goes.

This weekend I hope to get a chance to write and create, but just as a taste here is what is already planned…SOYC Polar Bear Plunge (postponed do to too much ice in the river), a reptile show, a gathering for Superfood Sunday (more on that later), Super Bowl gathering and some where in there I need to go to the grocery store and get my oil changed in my car (yeah so that doesn’t need to happen since it decided to crap out on me on the highway last night, hopefully its just the battery but either way I won’t need to take it in this weekend). So yea. It’s going to be a busy weekend, grated it seems to be lightening up a bit. This weekend will be geared to creating a recipe and doing a little research on a “superfood” for Sunday. Keep an eye out for a post on that… Plus something to take for a Super Bowl party, I may put that on my husband.

Okay…that’s enough about all of that! You may have seen posts over the past weekend and I have been getting a lot of requests for the recipes so I decided I would share.

We get together with our friends quite a bit and have group dinners. Everyone brings items to share, that fit into a theme. Over the weekend we got together for a soup and panini sandwich dinner, therefore everyone brought various sandwich fixings. Different cheeses, meats, greens, breads, etc. and I made a couple of soups.

Turkey Ruben with Homemade Sauerkraut via MintGrapefruit

I had a craving for a Ruben, but instead of corned beef I went with turkey. For some reason I just couldn’t shake the craving. I used Udi’s gluten-free bread, deli turkey, homemade sauerkraut*, Swiss cheese and thousand island dressing…it was AWESOME. And I’m not going to lie, I made another one…and another one. My husband made a grilled chicken, bacon, provolone and BBQ sauce on sourdough, which he thought was awesome.

Grilled Chicken and Bacon Panini via MintGrapefruit

Our one friend roasted pork for Cuban Sandwiches, which consisted of pork, ham, pickles, yellow mustard and Swiss cheese pressed on a torta which looked awesome.

There was so much awesomeness being created!

Some of the other filling choices that were available: salami, cheddar cheese, mozzarella cheese, roasted red peppers, spinach, artichokes…

We also had: gluten-free, sour dough and French breads, plus torta rolls.

Now for the soups!

When looking around for soup ideas I knew I wanted something with beans, the other soup I left up to my husband to choose. I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to create my own, so instead I ventured to Pinterest.

I actually came across two recipes for the same soup, which as a fellow food blogger I was a little disappointed because there wasn’t any credit given to the original poster. You should always give credit. Anyway, I could really get off on a tangent here, back to soup…

Vegan White Bean Soup via MintGrapefruit

For the Vegan White Bean Soup I only made a few changes. And when you compare my photo with the original you wouldn’t know I used that recipe as a guide. My soup seemed thicker and much darker (and not quite as pretty).

Ingredients
*dairy-free, gluten-free, grain-free, egg-free, soy-free

1 tsp olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp dried basil (I used fresh)
1½ tsp dried sage
¼ tsp salt
3½ cups vegetable broth (I used Trader Joe’s brand, it was a very dark, rich broth and the possible culprit for such a dark soup; I also added about one extra cup)
3 cups white beans, such as Cannellini or Great northern
1 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes
½ cup raw cashews
½ cup water
5 cups shredded kale

To see more visit the original post by The Vegan Crew HERE. *the only change I made in the process was also puréed some of the beans.

Bacon Cheeseburger Soup via MintGrapefruit

Now for the one for the meat fans…Bacon Cheeseburger Soup, yep that’s what I said. This was a super hearty and flavorful soup.  I did make a few changes.

Ingredients
*gluten-free, egg-free

1 pound lean ground beef
1 pound bacon, cooked, crumbled and divided
¾ cup chopped onion
¾ cup shredded carrots
¾ cup diced celery
1 teaspoon dried or fresh basil
1 teaspoon dried or fresh parsley flakes
1 tablespoons butter
4 cups chicken broth
4 cups diced yellow potatoes (I left the skin on)
2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
1 cup whole milk
¾ cup heavy cream
¾ teaspoon salt
¼ to ½ teaspoon pepper
Optional toppings: sour cream, remaining bacon, green onions, shredded cheese

To see more of the recipe visit the original post by The Recipe Critic HERE. *I omitted the flour all together and the whole rue making process to make it gluten-free, you could easily just use a gluten-free flour instead.

If you get a chance to make either of these soups I’d love to hear your opinion, I will most likely make both again.

With thinking of super foods (any whole food with a high nutrient content) What is your favorite “superfood”?

Leave a Reply

