Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week

We are smack dab in the middle of Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week and I thought what better way than to talk a little bit about the disease and give an update on my health. Okay…I really just want to share an update.

This is the official two week marker where I tell my doctor how I have been doing on my new medication, and to figure out if I should go on prednisone.  Well, I am happy to say the Uceris seems to be working and other than some fatigue (which could be from my incredibly low vitamin D count) I am feeling SO much better.  I am not fully back to “normal” but my symptoms have decreased tremendously.  So, Yay!

Three months of continuing Uceris then I will be off for a little while and we will see how my body reacts. Hopefully, I won’t need to go on prednisone. For now I just need to work on getting my Vitamin D…

My personal battle is with Ulcerative Colitis, I have a moderate case which I am (seeming) to regulate with medication.  Here is some information from The Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA):

Ulcerative colitis is a chronic disease of the large intestine, also known as the colon, in which the lining of the colon becomes inflamed and develops tiny open sores, or ulcers, that produce pus and mucous. The combination of inflammation and ulceration can cause abdominal discomfort and frequent emptying of the colon. 

Ulcerative colitis is the result of an abnormal response by your body’s immune system. Normally, the cells and proteins that make up the immune system protect you from infection. In people with IBD, however, the immune system mistakes food, bacteria, and other materials in the intestine for foreign or invading substances. When this happens, the body sends white blood cells into the lining of the intestines, where they produce chronic inflammation and ulcerations.
It’s important to understand the difference between ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease. Crohn’s disease can affect any part of the Gastrointestinal (GI) Tract, but ulcerative colitis affects only the colon. Additionally, while Crohn’s disease can affect all layers of the bowel wall, ulcerative colitis only affects the lining of the colon. 

While both ulcerative colitis and Crohn’s disease are types of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBD), they should not be confused with Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), a disorder that affects the muscle contractions of the colon. IBS is not characterized by intestinal inflammation. (Read More…)

For those of you that know me…Pearl Jam is a staple in our house. If you weren’t already aware Mike McCready, Pearl Jam’s guitarist, battles Crohn’s and I found this article that I thought I would share…seemed relative:

“My band knew about my disease and was supportive, but for the most part, I didn’t talk about it; I was ashamed and didn’t know anyone who really knew anything about it anyway.”

What Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week Means to Me by Mike McCready (Huffington Post)


Okay, now a random question…does anyone else have really low Vitamin D? I take supplements and I am still low. No, I don’t drink milk and no, I don’t get as much sun right now as I would like… Suggestions?
Leave a Reply

